The California Military Department hired TL Veterans Construction, Inc. to renovate buildings at the Joint Forces Training Base in Los Alamitos. The approximately $3 million project included asbestos abatement. The Department required insurance protection and was named as an additional insured under liability policies issued by Scottsdale Insurance Company.

After a fire destroyed a building during the project, the Department expected those policies to respond. Instead, Scottsdale investigated the contractor’s applications, identified material misrepresentations, and rescinded the coverage. On October 14, 2026, the California Court of Appeal affirmed a judgment in Scottsdale’s favor. Scottsdale Insurance Co. v. California Military Department, No. G065564 (Cal. Ct. App., 4th Dist., Div. 3).

For a property owner or developer, the uncomfortable feature of this dispute is that the Department did not make the inaccurate statements. The contractor did. Yet the Department’s status as an additional insured did not preserve the policies after rescission.

The contractor’s applications and the fire

TL Veterans had represented that its work involved smaller projects and denied performing asbestos-related operations. Those representations were inconsistent with its actual business and the military-base renovation. Scottsdale issued primary and excess liability policies based on the applications.

A fire during construction destroyed one of the buildings. The resulting loss prompted a coverage investigation that revealed the discrepancies, including the contractor’s denial of asbestos work. Scottsdale asserted its right to rescind the policies for material misrepresentations. The trial court granted summary judgment in the insurer’s favor, and the Department appealed.

The Department advanced two principal objections. It argued that Scottsdale should have discovered the misrepresentations through investigation of an earlier claim and therefore had waived rescission. It also argued that the Department had relied on the insurance when it awarded the contract, making rescission inequitable as to an innocent additional insured.

Why the Court of Appeal allowed rescission

The appellate court rejected both arguments. The earlier claim did not disclose the contractor’s asbestos operations. Even if an insurer’s knowledge of particular facts could affect its rescission rights, the prior claim did not establish that Scottsdale knew of, or had waived its right to rely on, the independent asbestos-related misrepresentation.

The court also rejected the Department’s reliance argument. California Insurance Code section 650 addresses the timing of an insurer’s exercise of rescission rights before an action on the insurance contract is commenced, and expressly addresses the effect on additional insureds unless the contract provides otherwise. The Department’s reliance on the policies when selecting the contractor did not, on this record, prevent Scottsdale from exercising its statutory rescission right.

The ruling should not be read as permission to rescind every policy whenever an application contains an error. Whether a representation was false and material, whether the insurer possessed relevant knowledge or waived a defense, whether rescission was properly exercised, and whether the policy changes the statutory result all require examination of the actual evidence and contract language.

Rescission is different from denying a particular claim

A coverage denial ordinarily assumes that a policy exists but disputes whether a particular loss falls within its terms. Rescission attacks the policy itself, potentially treating it as void from inception. That distinction is consequential for an additional insured who has done nothing wrong but depends on the contractor’s policy for a large construction loss.

Being listed on a certificate of insurance is therefore no guarantee that coverage will survive a later challenge to the underlying policy. Nor does additional-insured status, by itself, cure material misstatements made by the named insured in obtaining coverage.

What owners and contractors should examine before work begins

A project owner negotiating a construction agreement should look beyond the certificate of insurance. The actual additional-insured endorsement, the covered operations, policy limits, exclusions, and the insurer’s underwriting assumptions may matter when a loss occurs. For projects involving asbestos abatement, demolition, environmental exposures, or unusually large contract values, the description of the insured work deserves particular attention.

Owners may also consider contractual representations requiring the contractor to disclose its actual operations and maintain policies appropriate to the project. Such provisions can support contractual remedies against the contractor, although they do not necessarily prevent the insurer from rescinding its policy. A contractor, meanwhile, should verify that its insurance applications accurately describe its work and project size rather than relying on generalized answers supplied by a broker or employee.

The Scottsdale decision illustrates a serious allocation-of-risk problem in construction contracts. An owner can insist on insurance, obtain additional-insured status, and still face a dispute over whether the insurance contract ever provided enforceable protection. When substantial property damage is involved, that question may determine whether the owner must pursue the contractor directly rather than recover from the insurer.

Elpis Law represents clients in California construction and commercial litigation, including disputes concerning contractual risk allocation and insurance-related issues. Whether a claim involves a contractor, owner, insurer, or additional insured, the starting point is the policy language, the application history, and the sequence of events surrounding the loss.

Legal Authorities

  • Scottsdale Insurance Co. v. California Military Department (Oct. 14, 2026, G065564), Cal. Ct. App., 4th Dist., Div. 3, published — full opinion
  • California Insurance Code § 331 — official text
  • California Insurance Code § 359 — official text
  • California Insurance Code § 650 — official text

Related practice areas: Contracts and Business Torts · Commercial Real Estate

This article is for general informational purposes only and does not constitute legal advice. Whether a representation was false and material, whether an insurer knew of or waived it, and whether rescission was properly exercised all depend on the evidence and the policy. Reading this article or contacting the firm does not, by itself, create an attorney‑client relationship.

Related Insights

← All Insights